Creative Printmaking: Class Three

engraving the plateThis week at my print-making class I continued working on a drypoint engraving (on acetate sheet) of reeds, and rose hips in Barton. The majority of the marks were made with a fine point – I went over some of the areas,which on my last print were too incidental. I continued on the reeds and lines I could see on the photograph, until I got to the point where I was worried the whole thing looked too scribbly. I also used some fine wire wool in the hope of distressing the plate a little – but this didn’t work so well with the acetate. I rushed inking the plate up, and subsequently the print is too light, but I am happy with the marks, and how the print is progressing.

The reveal Proof02

Next week, I am going to use my session to practice inking up the plate and printing, so that I can try a variety of methods removing the ink.

2 thoughts on “Creative Printmaking: Class Three

    1. It is a great course. Theres a small group of us, and everyone is a different skill level, and working on a different print medium, which is very inspiring – I can’t wait to get back

Leave a comment