Creative Printmaking: Class One

I am studying Creative Printmaking at the Birmingham Printmakers.  Its a six week course, but one which continues throughout the year.  Our tutor Paul Bartlett is an amazing artist, and a great tutor.   I will be working with drypoint, a method I was taught an age ago, but have not tried again since.  Paul recommended we bring something with us to work from – so I thought I would do some more with my hawthorn sketch I did at christmas.  It was great to meet other experienced printmakers and to see their work.
Rather than using a metal printing plate, as I’ve used before, I worked on a clear flexible sheet.  I found this much easier to mark – with the added benefit of seeing what you are copying underneath.  The exercise was not to produce a finished piece but to practice using different tools and making a range of marks.  I forgot to photograph the tools – but I image you can use anything which marks the plastic.
img_56541

Next I inked the plate up with a water-soluble oil based ink using a small rag.  The plate was stuck down to the bench with masking tape to stop it moving.  The ink was then removed with a clean bit of rag.  The skill is to remove the right amount.  I ended up with ink all over my hands – I am a messy creative!!

IMG_5659

img_56601

This monster is an intaglio press – you place damped paper on top of the plate (face up) and roll it though. Then its the fun bit – peeling off the paper and revealing your print!

Intaglio printing press
Intaglio printing press
For my first attempt at dry point, I am quite chuffed.  Its interesting to see the marks each tool makes – what works and what doesn’t.
Finished print
Finished print

Leave a comment